Wheat, rye, barley and oats form the base of many of the ingredients we find in processed food. For this reason deglutenous thought it might be useful to share a quick run down of which derivatives of gluten containing grains are dangerous.

Gluten containing grains

In their pure form, those on a gluten free diet cannot eat;

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)
  • Oats (unless specified gluten free)

Gluten containing grains are manufactured into many other products some gluten free some not

Products made from gluten containing grains

When the grain is processed we are left with the following forms, which still contain protein, therefore gluten and are not safe for those on a gluten free diet;

  • Flour
  • Starch
  • Thickener
  • Modified starch
  • Vegetable protein
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrin
  • Flavour
  • Malt
  • Malt extract

These products can also be made from many other crops; for example potatoes, rice or corn. In Australia if an allergen is present it must be clearly stated on the label next to the ingredient which contains it. If a product contains starch produced from a gluten containing grain it would have state it in brackets after the ingredient. If one of the above ingredients is listed on a label but no source grain is mentioned it must be made from something other than a gluten containing grain.

Read our guide to reading labels for more information.

Gluten containing grains are manufactured into many other products some gluten free some not

Gluten free derivatives

These are derivatives of gluten containing grains but through processing they no longer contain any protein, therefore are gluten free and safe for those on a gluten free diet (although we don’t encourage consuming large amounts);

  • Dextrose
  • Glucose
  • Glucose syrup
  • Caramel colour
  • Colour (150)

Tip: Read our post on dextrose and glucose to see an example of determining when products containing the above are safe.