There are so many types of vinegar to choose from. They can be used in anything from salad dressing to pavlova so here is a post to help you know which ones are suitable for a gluten free diet?

Vinegars which are not gluten free

Let us start with those that are not suitable for a gluten free diet to avoid anyone getting into trouble.

  • Malt vinegar is not gluten free because it is made from barley-based ale that's not distilled. It definitely contains gluten.
  • Also look out for malt vinegar in any other products, which will not be suitable for a gluten free diet. For example some pickled goods are preserved using malt vinegar.

The good news is that all of these products should clearly state on the label that they contain barley or gluten.

Which vinegars are gluten free?

Vinegars which are gluten free

The following vinegars are all made without barley and should be gluten free but it never hurts to check.

  • Balsamic vinegar.
  • Apple cider vinegar.
  • Wine vinegar.
  • Rice vinegar.
  • Flavoured vinegars, some craft gourmet goods make flavoured vinegars e.g. raspberry vinegar, these should be fine.

Check to be sure

Even the unassuming vinegars which you would assume to be gluten free are sometimes not. Be wary of the below.

  • White vinegar is the controversial one, as it can be made from almost any starch source or combination of sources, including gluten grains. We are yet to come across anyone who has had an issue but if you react to distilled alcohol made from gluten grains, proceed with caution.

Which vinegars are gluten free?

Parting advice

Always check labels. Always! That is the only way to be certain you aren't unwittingly 'glutening' yourself or the one you love.